The Los Angeles Lakers is a sports organization devoted to loyalty, winning and delivering a fan-facing experience across the globe. With 16 NBA Championships and 28 Hall of Famers, the Lakers have embodied the meaning of success across every era. Rooted in their core values, the franchise operates with integrity and is always united in their efforts to serve and inspire. The Lakers brand stands the test of time and is truly second to none.

The Lakers franchise predates the birth of the modern NBA. The Minneapolis Lakers’ first season was 1947-48, when the team entered the National Basketball League. After one season in the NBL, the team joined the Basketball Association of America, winning their first championship in the league that would a year later become the NBA. The Minneapolis Lakers were the NBA’s first dynasty, winning five championships in the league’s first six seasons.

1960 proved to be a pivotal year for the franchise, with the drafting of Jerry West and an offseason relocation to Los Angeles, becoming the first NBA team on the West Coast. Behind West and Elgin Baylor, the Lakers immediately put on a show in Tinseltown. With the acquisition of Wilt Chamberlain and the rebrand to purple and gold, the Lakers were set up for success in Los Angeles for years to come.

The next age of Laker basketball, the “Showtime Era,” kicked off with the drafting of Earvin “Magic” Johnson in 1979. Magic lived up to his namesake as a rookie, leading the Lakers to an NBA Championship and earning Finals MVP honors in year-one. Behind Hall of Famers Johnson, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, James Worthy and Head Coach Pat Riley, the team would win five championships in the 1980’s. Following the retirements of Abdul-Jabbar and Johnson, the Lakers entered another dynastic period with the additions of Kobe Bryant and Shaquille O’Neal. The legendary duo, led by another Hall of Fame coach in Phil Jackson, helped the team win three consecutive titles from 2000-2002, securing the franchise its second “three-peat.” Bryant and Jackson would then lead the franchise to back-to-back championships in 2009 and 2010, further establishing the Lakers as the NBA’s gold standard.